ProTeam Lotto Soudal to Ruta del Sol with team of attackers

"We have to go in full attack mode during the five days of racing."
Race 15 February 2022

From Wednesday 16 February till Sunday 20 February, the Lotto Soudal riders traverse the Spanish region of Andalucía during the 68th Ruta del Sol. During this selective 2.Pro stage race, the peloton will face a mix of hilly and mountainous terrain. Lotto Soudal will be at the start with the following seven riders: Cedric Beullens, Filippo Conca, Steff Cras, Frederik Frison, Sébastien Grignard, Kamil MaÅ‚ecki and Sylvain Moniquet. Kurt Van de Wouwer will be the sports director at the race and previews the ambitions of Lotto Soudal at the Vuelta a Andalucía.

“Five riders who took part in the Clásica Jaén Paraiso Interior will also be at the start of the Ruta del Sol. Cedric Beullens and Kamil MaÅ‚ecki will join the line-up, while Tim Wellens and Andreas Kron only race in Jaén. At the Ruta del Sol, we have no single leader, it’s more a group of riders with a free role. Guys like Steff Cras or Sylvain Moniquet are able to obtain a nice result in the general classification, but we have to evaluate this day by day.”

“The fact that the riders within our line-up don’t need to work for a specific leader, gives them the chance to ride for their own results. They need to try to seize these opportunities during races like these. That is why we have to go in full attack mode during the five days of racing. It won’t be straightforward of course, as there are no easy stages in Andalucía. The course is always tough and there’s usually a strong field of riders at the start”, concludes Kurt Van de Wouwer.

Stage schedule

Wednesday 16 February: Ubrique – Iznájar (200 km)

Thursday 17 February: Archidona – Alcalá La Real (150 km)

Friday 18 February: Lucena – Otura (153 km)

Saturday 19 February: Cúllar Vega – Baza (167 km)

Sunday 20 February: Huesa – Chiclana de Segura (146 km)

In this article

16 Feb 20 Feb
  1. Wout Poels Vlag Netherlands 20H 51' 27" Bahrain - Victorious
  2. Cristián Rodríguez Vlag Spain 20H 51' 41" TotalEnergies
  3. Miguel Ángel López Vlag Colombia 20H 51' 42" Astana Qazaqstan Team
  4. Steff Cras Vlag Belgium 20H 58' 39" Lotto Soudal
  5. Sylvain Moniquet Vlag Belgium 21H 11' 57" Lotto Soudal
  6. Filippo Conca Vlag Italy 21H 15' 38" Lotto Soudal
  7. Sébastien Grignard Vlag Belgium 21H 18' 30" Lotto Soudal
  8. Kamil Małecki Vlag Poland 21H 22' 15" Lotto Soudal
  9. Cedric Beullens Vlag Belgium 21H 26' 05" Lotto Soudal
  10. Frederik Frison Vlag Belgium 21H 27' 54" Lotto Soudal