Algemeen Lotto Soudal announces balanced Vuelta-team

Race 16 August 2022

Cedric Beullens, Steff Cras, Jarrad Drizners, Thomas De Gendt, Maxim Van Gils, Filippo Conca, Kamil MaÅ‚ecki and Harry Sweeny are the riders that will represent Lotto Soudal at the 2022 Vuelta a España. The balanced Belgian team targets stage victories.

"I think we have a strong and balanced team for this final grand tour of the season", says sports director Kurt Van de Wouwer. "We do not have a clear team leader and that offers opportunities to everyone in the team. With Thomas De Gendt we have someone who has seen and experienced it all. In 2017 he won a stage in the Vuelta and in this year's Giro he has shown that he is still up to it. He will guide our young riders throughout their first grand tour. We have three grand tour debutants in this Vuelta: Cedric Beullens, Jarrad Drizners and Filippo Conca."

"Harry Sweeny has shown his good form in the Tour de l'Ain", continues Van de Wouwer. "Filippo Conca, Kamil MaÅ‚ecki and Jarrad Drizners have also proven to be ready. Cedric Beullens could already get his opportunity during the opening weekend in The Netherlands, should there be enough wind. Maxim Van Gils will aim for breakaways in the more difficult stages later on. And Steff Cras was 20th in last year's GC. He will target the GC also this year and will fight for a good spot the entire Vuelta."

In this article

14 Aug 05 Sep

La Vuelta ciclista a España

Vlag Spain Spain 3417 km
  1. Primož Roglič Vlag Slovenia 83H 55' 29" Team Jumbo-Visma
  2. Enric Mas Vlag Spain 84H 00' 11" Movistar Team
  3. Jack Haig Vlag Australia 84H 03' 09" Bahrain - Victorious
  4. Steff Cras Vlag Belgium 85H 17' 35" Lotto Soudal
  5. Andreas Kron Vlag Denmark 87H 30' 04" Lotto Soudal
  6. Sylvain Moniquet Vlag Belgium 87H 47' 39" Lotto Soudal
  7. Maxim Van Gils Vlag Belgium 87H 49' 24" Lotto Soudal
  8. Harm Vanhoucke Vlag Belgium 88H 38' 00" Lotto Soudal
  9. Florian Vermeersch Vlag Belgium 88H 52' 38" Lotto Soudal